2018 Round 3

Nick is KING!

Nick Anvelink took home the checkered flag and a check for $2000 in the DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour 30-lap Salute to Service at Spring Lake Speedway, on Friday, May 25, presented by Kirkpatrick Law Office.

Severe weather threatened the area for most of the day, but it was a beautiful night for racing at the progressively banked Spring Lake Speedway. Anvelink started the race from the outside of the front row, as Brett Swedberg led the field to the green flag. The yellow flag flew before a lap was completed, as Adam Janke jumped the cushion in turn two. On the restart, Anvelink took the lead with Swedberg on his bumper. Caution would slow the field twice on lap eight, the first time for a multi-car incident in turn two, the second time for a car stalled trying to exit the track in turn 2. On the restart, Anvelink led the field, followed by Swedberg, Justin Schmidt, Ron Berna and Troy Springborn. Mark Rose had moved up to sixth position, after starting tenth. At the halfway point, Anvelink continued to lead, but lapped traffic prevented Swedberg from making it a two-wide battle. Anvelink would go on to win, making his first visit to the Gary's Old Fashioned Mix Victory Lane, just as a light rain began to fall. Berna finished second, followed by Swedberg, Rose, and Schmidt.

The Salute to Service 30 was also the first round of the four-race Seubert Summer Series, sponsored by Seubert Calf Ranches. A series within a series, drivers at the the Seubert Calf Ranches Summer Series events will earn both Championship points and Seubert Summer Series points. The four events that make up the Seubert Calf Ranches Summer Series are: May 25 at Spring Lake Speedway, July 1 at Eagle Valley Speedway, August 10 at Outagamie Speedway and September 2 at TNT Speedway. The Seubert Summer Series has a $5,000 point fund, that is above and beyond the Championship Point Fund for the DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour. Drivers that attempt to qualify for the feature at all four events will be eligible for the Seubert Calf Ranches Summer Series Point Fund and that will be distributed equally to the Top 15 drivers.

The Stockbridge Engineering Touring Kings were all in attendance for the Salute to Service 30. Anvelink was King, Berna finished second, Swedberg finished third, Schmidt finished fifth, Chris Engels finished seventh, Jim Schmidt finished eighth, Jared Siefert finished eleventh, Tim Buhler finished fourteenth, Springborn finished fifteenth, and Jim Letizia had electrical problems, finishing twenty second.

Salute to Service A-Main - 30 Laps Result

P1: 15 - Nick Anvelink
P2: 66 - Ron Berna
P3: 3 - Brett Swedberg
P4: 0r - Mark Rose
P5: 97 - Justin Schmidt
P6: 1T - Troy Kuyoth
P7: 33e - Chris Engels
P8: 70 - Jim Schmidt
P9: 20 - Joe Reuter
P10: 33s - Ron Stroika
P11: 25 - Jared Siefert
P12: 27 - Derek Janke
P13: 89 - Brad Mueller
P14: 7b - Tim Buhler
P15: 81 - Troy Springborn
P16: 98 - Tom Naeyaert
P17: d1 - Turk Letizia
P18: 75 - Jeremy Kazynski
P19: 55 - Joe Bongiorno
P20: 87 - Adam Janke
P21: 7x - Jesse Glenz
P22: d7 - Jim Letizia

Allstar Performance Hard Charger Award: Troy Kuyoth
Amsoil/ Freedom Synthetics: Chris Engels
Behling Racing Products Certificate: Ron Berna
Wehrs Machine Certificate: Nick Anvelink
Autometer Certificate: Nick Anvelink
Wilwood Lucky 13: Brad Mueller
Real Racing Wheels Hard Luck Award: Troy Springborn
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Certificate: Justin Schmidt

Heat Race #1 sponsored by Pro Power Racing Result

P1: 3 - Brett Swedberg
P2: 98 - Tom Naeyaert
P3: 7b - Tim Buhler
P4: 81 - Troy Springborn
P5: 25 - Jared Siefert
P6: 20 - Joe Reuter
P7: 75 - Jeremy Kazynski
P8: 1T - Troy Kuyoth

Heat Race #2 sponsored by Oak Ridge Foam & Coating Systems Result

P1: 97 - Justin Schmidt
P2: 66 - Ron Berna
P3: 33e - Chris Engels
P4: 55 - Joe Bongiorno
P5: d1 - Turk Letizia
P6: 7x - Jesse Glenz
P7: d7 - Jim Letizia

Heat Race #3 sponsored by Londerville Steel Result

P1: 15 - Nick Anvelink
P2: 87 - Adam Janke
P3: 0r - Mark Rose
P4: 27 - Derek Janke
P5: 89 - Brad Mueller
P6: 70 - Jim Schmidt
P7: 33s - Ron Stroika