2018 Round 4

Nick is King, Again!

Nick Anvelink wins the Battle by the Bay

One more lap may have changed the outcome of the 30-lap DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour’s Battle by the Bay at Luxemburg Speedway. As Nick Anvelink took the checkered flag, Paul Parker was just feet behind him. Anvelink had started the race from the pole position, after the re-draw procedure following the heat races. Anvelink led all 30 laps enroute to win his second straight race, defending his title as King.

Anvelink took the lead at the start, with Parker following him. The front of the field remained single file on the long green flag stretch while Brett Swedberg, Tim Buhler, Jared Siefert, Ron Berna, and Kevin Baldry battled for position behind the top five. Tom Naeyaert passed Parker for the second spot just before caution slowed the field on lap 15. Naeyaert held the second position on the restart until Parker overtook Naeyart four laps later, following the second caution of the event.

After the restart, Anvelink led the field with Parker and Naeyaert following. Mitch McGrath worked outside of Siefert as Jim Schmidt worked outside of Swedberg. Just behind this battle, the field raced three and four wide for several laps behind them.

As the white flag flew, Anvelink was just coming up on the tail end of the field, allowing Parker to close the gap between them and challenge for the lead, just coming out of turn four.

Parker finished second, followed by Naeyaert, Swedberg, McGrath, Berna, Siefert, Schmidt, Troy Springborn, and Mark Rose completing the top ten.

The Stockbridge Engineering Touring Kings were all in attendance for the Battle by the Bay 30. Anvelink was King, Sweberg was fourth, Berna finished sixth, Siefert finished seventh, Schmidt was eighth, Springborn finished ninth, Chris Engels finished thirteenth, Tim Buhler finished fourteenth, Justin Schmidt finished fifteenth, and Jim Letizia finished seventeenth.

Battle by the Bay A-Main - 30 Laps Result

P1: 15 - Nick Anvelink
P2: 10p - Paul Parker
P3: 98 - Tom Naeyaert
P4: 3 - Brett Swedberg
P5: 74m - Mitch McGrath
P6: 66 - Ron Berna
P7: 25 - Jared Siefert
P8: 70 - Jim Schmidt
P9: 81 - Troy Springborn
P10: 0r - Mark Rose
P11: 10s - Taylor Scheffler
P12: 33s - Ron Stroika
P13: 33e - Chris Engels
P14: 7b - Tim Buhler
P15: 97 - Justin Schmidt
P16: 20 - Joe Reuter
P17: d7 - Jim Letizia
P18: d1 - Turk Letizia
P19: 54 - Kevin Baldry
P20: 89 - Brad Mueller

B-Main 15-laps Result

P1: 33e - Chris Engels
P2: 33s - Ron Stroika
P3: d1 - Turk Letizia
P4: d7 - Jim Letizia
P5: 16 - Zack Kessler
P6: 75 - Jeremy Kazynski
P7: 87 - Adam Janke

Heat Race #1 sponsored by Pro Power Racing Result

P1: 98 - Tom Naeyaert
P2: 7b - Tim Buhler
P3: 25 - Jared Siefert
P4: 81 - Troy Springborn
P5: 33e - Chris Engels
P6: 13 - David Jaeger
P7: 27 - Derek Janke

Heat Race #2 sponsored by Oak Ridge Foam & Coating Systems Result

P1: 10p - Paul Parker
P2: 74m - Mitch McGrath
P3: 0r - Mark Rose
P4: 20 - Joe Reuter
P5: d1 - Turk Letizia
P6: 75 - Jeremy Kazynski

Heat Race #3 sponsored by Londerville Steel Result

P1: 70 - Jim Schmidt
P2: 3 - Brett Swedberg
P3: 54 - Kevin Baldry
P4: 97 - Justin Schmidt
P5: d7 - Jim Letizia
P6: 87 - Adam Janke

Heat Race #4 sponsored by DiscountShopTowels.com Result

P1: 15 - Nick Anvelink
P2: 66 - Ron Berna
P3: 10s - Taylor Scheffler
P4: 89 - Brad Mueller
P5: 33s - Ron Stroika
P6: 16 - Zack Kessler

Results generated by RacePal