The Lumberyard Bar & Grill Spring Thaw


Mike Mullen is King!  Mike Mullen was crowned King of The Lumberyard Bar & Grill Spring Thaw at Shawano Speedway, the 2024 season opener for the WABAM Dirt Kings Late Model Tour.

April 13, 2024

Shawano, WI - Mike Mullen was crowned King of WABAM Dirt Kings Late Model Tour 2024 season opener, The Lumberyard Bar & Grill Spring Thaw at Shawano Speedway in BMRE Electrick Carts Victory Lane. Mullen started third in the 25-lap A-Main as Chris Oertel and Andy Karl led the field to the green flag. Karl took the lead as Oertel and Gunner Frank battled for position behind him. Karl stretched his lead to 4.518 seconds before the caution came out on lap seven. On the restart, Karl was able to maintain his lead as Mullen battled with him. On the next lap, Mullen raced to the inside of Karl in turn two and took the lead, earning the Autoworx Clean Move of the Race. Caution slowed the field on the next lap, erasing the .749 second lead that Mullen had. On the restart, Mullen continued to pace the field as Frank and Karl battled for second place.

At the halfway point, Mullen held a 2.385 second advantage over Frank. Mullen's advantage continued to increase as Frank, Karl, Nick Anvelink and Justin Ritchie followed behind. Mullen went on to win his fifth WABAM Dirt Kings Late Model Tour race by 4.648 seconds over Frank, Karl, Anvelink and Ritchie.

Troy Springborn was The Pues Family Hard Charger, passing 10 cars in The Lumberyard Bar & Grill Spring Thaw, earning an additional $200.

The Lumberyard Bar Grill Spring Thaw A-Main (25 Laps): 1. 99M-Mike Mullen[3]; 2. 21F-Gunner Frank[4]; 3. 61K-Andy Karl[2]; 4. 15-Nick Anvelink[6]; 5. 70-Justin Ritchie[7]; 6. 81-Troy Springborn[16]; 7. 7-Joel Bennett[9]; 8. 3-Brett Swedberg[10]; 9. 77-Bill Edler[14]; 10. D1-Turk Letizia[12]; 11. (DNF) 25-Jared Siefert[8]; 12. (DNF) 99-Sawyer Specht[11]; 13. (DNF) 21-Todd Frank[5]; 14. (DNF) 5-Lukas Postl[13]; 15. (DNF) 56-Jordan Barkholtz[15]; 16. (DNF) 51-Chris Oertel[1]; 17. (DNS) 21M-Shawn Miller; 18. (DNS) 95W-Aaron Wickersheim

Autoworx Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 15-Nick Anvelink[2]; 2. 99M-Mike Mullen[1]; 3. 70-Justin Ritchie[4]; 4. 7-Joel Bennett[5]; 5. 25-Jared Siefert[8]; 6. 99-Sawyer Specht[3]; 7. 5-Lukas Postl[6]; 8. 77-Bill Edler[7]; 9. 56-Jordan Barkholtz[9]

Klink Equipment Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 21F-Gunner Frank[4]; 2. 51-Chris Oertel[5]; 3. 61K-Andy Karl[9]; 4. 21-Todd Frank[8]; 5. 3-Brett Swedberg[6]; 6. D1-Turk Letizia[1]; 7. 95W-Aaron Wickersheim[3]; 8. 21M-Shawn Miller[2]; 9. 81-Troy Springborn[7]


Follow Dirt Kings Tour on Social Media

23 FB cover july copy