8/10/18 Summer Sizzler at Outagamie Speedway


Nick Anvelink was crowned King of the DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour Summer Sizzler at Outagamie Speedway on Friday, August 10, 2018.Β  Anvelink was joined in Gary's Old Fashioned Mix Victory Lane with Loren Vavricka of DiscountShopTowels.com.

Nick is King!

Nick is King!

Seymour, Wisconsin - Nick Anvelink returned to the Gary's Old Fashioned Mix Victory Lane at Outagamie Speedway powered by EWSC Racing in the Summer Sizzler. Sport-O-Motive of Appleton sponsored the 30-lap race, increasing the starting pay for the 20-car field. Anvelink started seventh, as Brett Swedberg and Ron Berna led the field to the green flag. Swedberg took the lead as Tim Buhler battled with Berna for second. By lap five, Swedberg had a sizable lead and Anvelink had worked his way to fifth position. Anvelink raced outside of Berna in turn three to third position on lap seven. Lapped traffic allowed Buhler and Anvelink to close in on Swedberg, as Anvelink moved to second on lap thirteen. Anvelink raced outside of Swedberg to take the lead on lap twenty and caution slowed the field one lap later as Swedberg and Josh Moesch made contact on the backstretch.

On the restart, Anvelink led Buhler, Berna, Jim Schmidt and Chris Engels to the green flag. Caution slowed the field again for an incident in turn three before the lap was completed. Anvelink jumped out to the lead again on lap 21, as Justin Schmidt worked the outside to race with Engels for fifth. Anvelink went on to win his fifth race of the 2018 DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour season. Berna finished second, followed by Buhler, Jim Schmidt, and Engels. Joe Reuter was the Allstar Hard Charger of the event, Reuter passing eight cars enroute to a ninth place finish.

The race was also broadcast live on Speed51.com as part of their Summer Thunder Series. Premium members have access to the replay and highlights and replays of other events from the 2018 Discount Shop Towels.com Dirt Kings Tour season.

The Stockbridge Engineering Touring Kings swept the top six positions, Nick Anvelink was King, Ron Berna finished second, Tim Buhler finished third, Jim Schmidt was fourth, Chris Engels was fifth, and Justin Schmidt finished sixth. Brett Swedberg finished tenth and Troy Springborn finished 19th.

Fans were casting the very first votes for the 2018 Most Popular Driver Award, presented by HobbyTown USA Green Bay. Fans can vote at the track by visiting the Dirt Kings Tour Fan Zone and online voting will begin in September.

The DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour returns to action on Friday, August 17 at Wilmot Raceway for the Dairyland Duel. The 50-lap race is being co-sanctioned with the American Ethanol Late Model Tour, marking the first time drivers from the two Tours will race head-to-head. $4000 awaits the King in the Gary’s Old Fashioned Mix Victory Lane.

Summer Sizzler - 30 lap A-Main Results

P1: 15 - Nick Anvelink
P2: 66 - Ron Berna
P3: 7b - Tim Buhler
P4: 70 - Jim Schmidt
P5: 33e - Chris Engels
P6: 97 - Justin Schmidt
P7: d1 - Turk Letizia
P8: 0r - Mark Rose
P9: 20 - Joe Reuter
P10: 3 - Brett Swedberg
P11: 98 - Tom Naeyaert
P12: 1 - Dave Fieber
P13: 22 - Charlie Schmidt
P14: 25 - Tyler Hacket
P15: 11 - Justin Reed
P16: 33s - Ron Stroika
P17: 5 - Lukas Postl
P18: 17m - Josh Moesch
P19: 81 - Troy Springborn
P20: 27 - Derek Janke

Heat Race #1 sponsored by Pro Power Racing Result
P1: 70 - Jim Schmidt
P2: 0r - Mark Rose
P3: 98 - Tom Naeyaert
P4: 97 - Justin Schmidt
P5: 20 - Joe Reuter
P6: 52 - Ron Bomber

Heat Race #2 sponsored by Oak Ridge Foam & Coating Systems Result
P1: 33e - Chris Engels
P2: 1 - Dave Fieber
P3: 22 - Charlie Schmidt
P4: 5 - Lukas Postl
P5: 33s - Ron Stroika
P6: 16 - Zack Kessler

Heat Race #3 sponsored by Londerville Steel Result
P1: 66 - Ron Berna
P2: 3 - Brett Swedberg
P3: 15 - Nick Anvelink
P4: 11 - Justin Reed
P5: 81 - Troy Springborn
P6: 27 - Derek Janke

Heat Race #4 sponsored by DiscountShopTowels.com Result
P1: 7b - Tim Buhler
P2: d1 - Turk Letizia
P3: 17m - Josh Moesch
P4: 25 - Tyler Hacket
P5: 99r - Aaron Reivitis
P6: 45 - Scott Blanke

Results generated by RacePal

Allstar Performance Hard Charger Award: Joe Reuter
Amsoil/ Freedom Synthetics: Turk Letizia
Behling Racing Products Certificate: Nick Anvelink
Wehrs Machine Certificate: Ron Berna
Autometer Certificate: Nick Anvelink
Wilwood Lucky 13: Charlie Schmidt
Real Racing Wheels Hard Luck Award: Brett Swedberg
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Certificate: Joe Bongiorno
Station 2 Cash: Zack Kessler

Photo Credit: C-Marq Photography