2018 Round 8

Nick is KING!

Nick Anvelink powered to his fourth win of the 2018 DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour season at the Dodge County Fairgrounds Speedway. Avenlink started the 25-lap Mid-Summer Showdown from fourth position, as Jim Schmidt and Brett Swedberg led the field to the green flag. Swedberg had the advantage on the first lap over Schmidt as the two cars raced side-by-side coming out of turn two. Swedberg held the lead as Anvelink worked outside of Schmidt for second position on lap three. Anvelink grabbed the top spot just one lap later as he battled with Swedberg for position at the line.

By lap eight, cars were spread out around the Horsepower Half-Mile, allowing Anvelink to catch the end of the field and begin lapping. The lapped traffic allowed Anvelink to pull away from Swedberg, Schmidt and Jared Siefert.

Caution slowed the field just past halfway, for Joe Reuter, who had stopped on the track in turn four. On the restart, Anvelink jumped out to the lead as Siefert passed Swedberg for second position and tried to make a run on Anvelink.

Anvelink was able to hold off Siefert for the win. Swedberg finished third, followed by Schmidt, Justin Schmidt, Mark Rose, Tim Buhler, Troy Springborn, Chris Engels and Ron Stroika.

The Stockbridge Engineering Touring Kings were all in attendance for the Mid-Summer Showdown. Anvelink took the win with Siefert in second, Swedberg finished third, Schmidt was fourth, Justin Schmidt finished fifth. Buhler finished seventh, Troy Springborn was eighth, Chris Engels finished ninth, Diamond Jim Letizia finished fifteenth, and Ron Berna finished seventeenth.

Mid-Summer Showdown A-Main -25 Lap Result

P1: 15 - Nick Anvelink
P2: 25 - Jared Siefert
P3: 3 - Brett Swedberg
P4: 70 - Jim Schmidt
P5: 97 - Justin Schmidt
P6: 0r - Mark Rose
P7: 7b - Tim Buhler
P8: 81 - Troy Springborn
P9: 33e - Chris Engels
P10: 33s - Ron Stroika
P11: 20 - Joe Reuter
P12: 8r - Bill Rezutek
P13: 16 - Zack Kessler
P14: d1 - Turk Letizia
P15: d7 - Jim Letizia
P16: 27 - Derek Janke
P17: 66 - Ron Berna

Heat Race #1 sponsored by Pro Power Racing Result
P1: 15 - Nick Anvelink�
P2: 7b - Tim Buhler
�P3: d1 - Turk Letizia�
P4: 27 - Derek Janke�
P5: 20 - Joe Reuter
�P6: 8r - Bill Rezutek

Heat Race #2 sponsored by Oak Ridge Foam & Coating Systems Result
P1: 97 - Justin Schmidt
P2: 66 - Ron Berna
P3: 25 - Jared Siefert
P4: 0r - Mark Rose
P5: 33s - Ron Stroika
P6: 33e - Chris Engels

Heat Race #3 sponsored by Londerville Steel Result
P1: 3 - Brett Swedberg
P2: 70 - Jim Schmidt
P3: d7 - Jim Letizia
P4: 16 - Zack Kessler
P5: 81 - Troy Springborn

Results generated by RacePal

Allstar Performance Hard Charger Award: Chris Engels
Amsoil/ Freedom Synthetics: Chris Engels
Behling Racing Products Certificate: Jared Siefert
Wehrs Machine Certificate: Jim Schmidt
Autometer Certificate: Nick Anvelink
Wilwood Lucky 13: Zack Kessler
Real Racing Wheels Hard Luck Award: Derek Janke
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Certificate: Tim Buhler
Tire Raffle: Ron Stroika