2020 Round 7 – Plymouth Dirt Track – Diamond 42

Jesse is King!

Plymouth, WI - Jesse Glenz scored his first DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour win and was crowned King of The Diamond 42 at Plymouth Dirt Track Racing in Mueller’s Sales & Service Victory Lane. Glenz started The Diamond 42 on the outside of the front row, taking the early lead. Mike Mullen challenged Glenz for the lead as they approached the tail end of the field on lap fifteen, with Mullen taking the lead the next lap. Mullen and Glenz swapped the lead and Justin Reed went to the top side to take the lead on lap nineteen. Reed continued to lead the field with Glenz, Mullen, Justin Schmidt and Taylor Scheffler fighting for position.
Caution slowed the field with just thirteen laps to go and on the restart, Reed remained the leader, followed by Schmidt, Glenz, Mitch McGrath and Mullen. Reed and Glenz pulled away from the field while McGrath, Mullen, Schmidt, Brad Mueller and Scheffler worked to close the distance.
With five laps to go, Brett Swedberg spun in turn four, bringing out the caution. On the restart, Glenz charged to the outside of Reed, advancing to the top spot with McGrath, Nick Anvelink and Scheffler rounding out the top five.
Glenz remained the leader as caution slowed the field for Reed, who had come to a rest on the top side of turn two, forcing a green, white, checkered finish and extended the race an additional lap. Glenz held off Schmidt by 2.869 seconds to win The Diamond 42, taking home a check for $4200. Justin Ritchie finished third followed by Ron Berna and Scheffler.
The Diamond 42 is a tribute to Diamond Jim Letizia for his 42 years in the car sales business and 42 years in racing. Special thanks to Diamond Jim's Steakhouse for sponsoring the race.

A Main Finish - Diamond 42
1 7x Jesse Glenz
2 97 Justin Schmidt
3 70 Justin Ritchie
4 66 Ron Berna
5 10s Taylor Scheffler
6 81 Troy Springborn
7 10 Paul Parker
8 95w Aaron Wickersheim
9 79 Jim Schmidt
10 15 Nick Anvelink
11 7 Joel Bennett
12 55 Joe Bongiorno
13 d1 Turk Letizia
14 11jr Justin Reed
15 89 Brad Mueller
16 1 Kevin Eder
17 3 Brett Swedberg
18 99 Mike Mullen
19 0r Mark Rose
20 33e Chris Engels
21 71 Rick Hanestad
22 16 Zack Kessler
23 74m Mitch McGrath