Turk is King!

Plymouth, WI - Turk Letizia claims his first WABAM Dirt Kings Late Model Tour victory in the WABAM 30 at Plymouth Dirt Track Racing and was crowned King in BMRE Electrick Carts Victory Lane.  Letizia won his heat race and started second in the 30-lap A-Main, battling Ken’s Sports Inc. Pole Sitter Justin Ritchie for the lead at the start of the race.  Letizia worked the outside of Ritchie and the two battled for the top spot with Letizia leading lap one.  Letizia continued to lead the field when the caution came out on lap nine, as Letizia and Ritchie had approached the tail end of the field.  On the restart, Letizia led the field to the green but the caution flag came out for an incident that collected Brett Swedberg and Justin Green.  Letizia paced the field to the restart with Taylor Scheffler challenging Ritchie for second.  

The green flag action lasted a lap as caution slowed the field again for a stalled car in turn one.  On the restart, Scheffler dove to the inside of Letizia and Letizia was able to remain in the lead while Nick Anvelink challenged Ritchie for third.  At the halfway point, Scheffler dove to the inside of Letizia claiming the lead but Letizia continued on the top side and took the lead back on the next lap.  The side-by-side battle for the lead continued for a few laps with Scheffler racing on the inside of Letizia and holding onto the lead.  Caution slowed the field a couple more times with Letizia maintaining the lead and holding off challenges from Scheffler.  On the final restart, Letizia pulled ahead while Anvelink battled for second with Scheffler.  Scheffler held onto second with Charlie Schmidt racing for fourth and Ritchie in fifth.  Letizia held on to win his very first WABAM Dirt Kings Late Model Tour race, something he said hehad been trying to do since 2017.  Anvelink passed Scheffler for second, with Scheffler in third, followed by Schmidt in fourth and Ritchie in fifth.

WABAM 30 (30 Laps): 1. 24-Turk Letizia[2]; 2. 15-Nick Anvelink[6]; 3. 10S-Taylor Scheffler[5]; 4. 22-Charlie Schmidt[9]; 5. 70-Justin Ritchie[1]; 6. 81-Troy Springborn[8]; 7. 7-Joel Bennett[4]; 8. 9Z-Jayme Zidar[13]; 9. 55-Joe Bongiorno[14]; 10. 5-Luke Postl[17]; 11. 79-Jim Schmidt[19]; 12. 03-Kyle Raddant[10]; 13. 97-Justin Schmidt[16]; 14. 93-Mike Kline[20]; 15. (DNF) 77-Bill Edler[18]; 16. (DNF) 66-Ron Berna[3]; 17. (DNF) 89-Brad Mueller[7]; 18. (DNF) 3-Brett Swedberg[11]; 19. (DNF) 19J-Justin Green[15]; 20. (DNF) 99-Sawyer Specht[12]; 21. (DNS) 99M-Mike Mullen

Pro Power Racing Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 10S-Taylor Scheffler[1]; 2. 66-Ron Berna[3]; 3. 22-Charlie Schmidt[2]; 4. 3-Brett Swedberg[4]; 5. 9Z-Jayme Zidar[5]; 6. 97-Justin Schmidt[7]; 7. 79-Jim Schmidt[6]

Sunoco Race Fuels Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 7-Joel Bennett[1]; 2. 15-Nick Anvelink[3]; 3. 89-Brad Mueller[5]; 4. 99-Sawyer Specht[4]; 5. 55-Joe Bongiorno[2]; 6. 5-Luke Postl[6]; 7. (DNS) 99M-Mike Mullen

Wehrs Machine Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. 24-Turk Letizia[1]; 2. 70-Justin Ritchie[4]; 3. 03-Kyle Raddant[2]; 4. 81-Troy Springborn[7]; 5. 19J-Justin Green[3]; 6. 77-Bill Edler[5]; 7. 93-Mike Kline[6]


Follow Dirt Kings Tour on Social Media

WabamFBCover copy