2018 Round 14 – Crowning of the King

Mitch is King!

Mitch McGrath makes it three in a row, taking the home the checkered flag in the final race of the 2018 DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour season, the 40-lap Crowning of the King at 141 Speedway.

McGrath started in sixth position, as Tom Naeyaert and Jim Schmidt led the field to the green flag. Schmidt took the early lead, holding off challenges from McGrath, beginning on lap ten, when caution slowed the field for the second time. On the restart, McGrath tried the inside line of Schmidt, but Schmidt was able to hold on. Caution slowed the field again just five laps later, setting up the same restart with Schmidt leading the field and McGrath taking the inside line. Schmidt continued to lead the way, but McGrath advanced to the front at the halfway point, prevailing on the inside. Jared Siefert then battled with Schmidt for second, as McGrath started to work through some lapped traffic.

With fourteen laps remaining, McGrath led the field to the green flag, followed by Siefert, Schmidt, Nick Anvelink, and Taylor Scheffler. McGrath was able to continue his lead, as Scheffler moved into third. Scheffler would pass Siefert to take over second place with four laps to go, but ran out of time to challenge McGrath for the win. McGrath visited the Gary's Old Fashioned Mix Victory Lane for the third time this season, the only driver victorious in the month of September.

Scheffler would finish second, followed by Siefert, Anvelink and Justin Schmidt.

The Stockbridge Engineering Touring Kings were all in attendance for the final race of the 2018 Kings of Clay Tour. Siefert finished third, Anvelink was fourth, Justin Schmidt was fifth, Brett Swedberg was sixth, Jim Schmidt was seventh, Ron Berna was ninth, Chris Engels was tenth, Jim Letizia was fourteenth, Troy Springborn finished eighteenth and Tim Buhler was nineteenth.

In the 2018 battle for the Championship, Nick Anvelink was crowned the 2018 DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour Champion, earning the Championship title in back-to-back seasons. Anvelink finishes the season with 5 wins, 9 top five finishes and 10 top ten finishes. Brett Swedberg finishes second in the Championship standings, with 7 top five finishes and 9 top ten finishes. Jared Siefert finishes third in the point standings with 1 win, 6 top five finishes and 8 top ten finishes. Ron Berna finishes fourth in the standings with 6 top five finishes and 8 top ten finishes. Jim Schmidt rounds out the top five in the standings with 2 top five finishes and 8 top ten finishes.

The Crowning of the King - 40 laps Result

P1: 74m - Mitch McGrath
P2: 15s - Taylor Scheffler
P3: 25 - Jared Siefert
P4: 15 - Nick Anvelink
P5: 97 - Justin Schmidt
P6: 3 - Brett Swedberg
P7: 70 - Jim Schmidt
P8: 98 - Tom Naeyaert
P9: 66 - Ron Berna
P10: 33e - Chris Engels
P11: 55 - Joe Bongiorno
P12: 0r - Mark Rose
P13: 33s - Ron Stroika
P14: d7 - Jim Letizia
P15: 17m - Josh Moesch
P16: 52 - Ron Bomber
P17: 99r - Aaron Reivitis
P18: 81 - Troy Springborn
P19: 7b - Tim Buhler
P20: d1 - Turk Letizia
P21: 11 - Justin Reed
P22: 87 - Adam Janke
P23: 20 - Joe Reuter
P24: 27 - Derek Janke

Heat Race #1 sponsored by Pro Power Racing Result

P1: 74m - Mitch McGrath
P2: 98 - Tom Naeyaert
P3: 70 - Jim Schmidt
P4: 15s - Taylor Scheffler
P5: 7b - Tim Buhler
P6: 11 - Justin Reed
P7: 87 - Adam Janke
P8: 99r - Aaron Reivitis

Heat Race #2 sponsored by Oak Ridge Foam & Coating Systems Result

P1: 15 - Nick Anvelink
P2: d1 - Turk Letizia
P3: 0r - Mark Rose
P4: 66 - Ron Berna
P5: 33e - Chris Engels
P6: 81 - Troy Springborn
P7: 52 - Ron Bomber
P8: 17m - Josh Moesch

Heat Race #3 sponsored by Londerville Steel Result

P1: 27 - Derek Janke
P2: 20 - Joe Reuter
P3: 25 - Jared Siefert
P4: 33s - Ron Stroika
P5: 97 - Justin Schmidt
P6: 3 - Brett Swedberg
P7: d7 - Jim Letizia
P8: 55 - Joe Bongiorno

Results generated by RacePal

Allstar Performance Hard Charger Award: Joe Bongiorno
Amsoil/ Freedom Synthetics: Jim Schmidt
Behling Racing Products Certificate: Turk Letizia
Wehrs Machine Certificate: Justin Schmidt
Autometer Certificate: Mitch McGrath
Wilwood Lucky 13: Ron Stroika
Real Racing Wheels Hard Luck Award: Derek Janke
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Certificate: Brett Swedberg