9/15/18 Jim Wildman Watson Classic at Wilmot Raceway


Mitch McGrath is crowned King of the DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour Jim Wildman Watson Classic at Wilmot Raceway.  McGrath is joined in the Gary's Old Fashioned Mix Victory Lane by his family and Brittany Watson.

Mitch is King!

Wilmot, WI - Mitch McGrath returned to the Gary's Old Fashioned Mix Victory Lane at Wilmot Raceway for the Inaugural Jim “Wildman” Watson Classic, presented by Allied Resource Recovery. McGrath made it back-to-back victories in the DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour, after winning at Plymouth Dirt Track Racing one week ago.

McGrath had the most passing points in the heat races, sponsored by The Brent Family, and the re-draw put him on the pole for the A-Main. Ron Berna led the first lap, advancing from fourth starting position, but McGrath took the lead back on lap two. Caution slowed the field on lap four, for a spin in turn three. On the restart, McGrath led Berna, Mark Rose, Rick Scheffler and Jim Schmidt back to the green flag. Berna looked to the inside of McGrath but McGrath was able to hold on.

McGrath continued to lead the way and by the halfway point, he and Berna had pulled away from Rose and Brett Swedberg who had advanced to fourth. Caution slowed the field one final time with twelve laps to go. On the restart, McGrath led the field followed by Berna, Swedberg, Taylor Scheffler, Jared Siefert and Justin Schmidt. McGrath held on to win the race, his third DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour victory.

McGrath took home the Jim "Wildman" Watson Classic custom trophy designed and built by John Burnside. McGrath was joined in the Gary’s Old Fashioned Mix Victory Lane by Brittany Watson, Jim’s daughter.

Many of the Wildman’s family and friends were in attendance at the Inaugural Jim “Wildman” Watson Classic. One lucky fan even won a 1/24 scale die cast of Jimmy’s car. In addition to family and friends supporting the event, Allied Resource Recovery served as the presenting sponsor, John Burnside built the trophy, and The Brent Family, Redline Web Design, QuarterMaster, and Five Star all contributed additional awards for the Inaugural race.

Taylor Scheffler was presented with the “Wildman” Hard Charger Award presented by Redline Web Design. Scheffler advanced thirteen positions, after starting seventeenth and finishing fourth.

QuarterMaster sponsored a Bell Housing Kit worth $1694.33 that was presented to Mark Rose, the sixth place finisher after the race. Rose was awarded the bell housing kit after a random draw of the top ten finishers.

Five Star Race Car Bodies presented three contingency certificates to the Wildman Classic. Joe Bongiorno, Troy Springborn, and Ron Stroika were awarded the certificates based on random draw after the race.

The Stockbridge Engineering Touring Kings all advanced to the A-Main, with Ron Berna finishing second, Brett Swedberg finished third, Jared Siefert was fifth, Jim Schmidt was seventh, Justin Schmidt finished eighth, Chris Engels finished ninth, Diamond Jim Letizia was eleventh, Tim Buhler finished thirteenth, and Troy Springborn finished twentieth.

The Inaugural Jim "W1ldman" Watson Classic - 30 laps Result
P1: 74m - Mitch McGrath (Waukesha, WI)
P2: 66 - Ron Berna (Abrams, WI)
P3: 3 - Brett Swedberg (Shawano, WI)
P4: 15s - Taylor Scheffler (Waukesha, WI)
P5: 25 - Jared Siefert (Luxemburg, WI)
P6: 0r - Mark Rose (Dorchester, WI)
P7: 70 - Jim Schmidt (Cleveland, WI)
P8: 97 - Justin Schmidt (Cleveland, WI)
P9: 33e - Chris Engels (Green Bay, WI)
P10: 55 - Joe Bongiorno (Milwaukee, WI)
P11: d7 - Jim Letizia (Milwaukee, WI)
P12: 8r - Bill Rezutek (Big Bend, WI)
P13: 7b - Tim Buhler (Glenbeulah, WI)
P14: 10s - Rick Scheffler (Waukesha, WI)
P15: 33s - Ron Stroika (Milwaukee, WI)
P16: 12 - Dan Pataska (Green Island, IA)
P17: d1 - Turk Letizia (Milwaukee, WI)
P18: 01 - Greg Cantrell Jr. (DeKalb, IL)
P19: r1 - Randy Manos (Rockford, IL)
P20: 81 - Troy Springborn (Shawano, WI)

B-Main 12 Laps Result

P1: 15s - Taylor Scheffler (Waukesha, WI)
P2: 81 - Troy Springborn (Shawano, WI)
P3: 55 - Joe Bongiorno (Milwaukee, WI)
P4: 19 - Kelly Pestka (DeWitt, IA)
P5: 97 - Justin Schmidt (Cleveland, WI)
P6: 03 - Dan White (Geneva, IL)
DNS: 98 - Tom Naeyaert (Shawano, WI)

Heat Race #1 sponsored by Pro Power Racing Result

P1: d1 - Turk Letizia
P2: 10s - Rick Scheffler
P3: 0r - Mark Rose
P4: d7 - Jim Letizia
P5: 01 - Greg Cantrell Jr.
P6: 12 - Dan Pataska
P7: 03 - Dan White
P8: 98 - Tom Naeyaert

Heat Race #2 sponsored by Oak Ridge Foam & Coating Systems Result

P1: 66 - Ron Berna
P2: 70 - Jim Schmidt
P3: 33s - Ron Stroika
P4: 3 - Brett Swedberg
P5: 8r - Bill Rezutek
P6: 81 - Troy Springborn
P7: 15s - Taylor Scheffler
P8: 19 - Kelly Pestka

Heat Race #3 sponsored by Londerville Steel Result

P1: 74m - Mitch McGrath
P2: 7b - Tim Buhler
P3: 25 - Jared Siefert
P4: 33e - Chris Engels
P5: r1 - Randy Manos
P6: 97 - Justin Schmidt
P7: 55 - Joe Bongiorno

Allstar Performance Hard Charger Award: Taylor Scheffler
Amsoil/ Freedom Synthetics: Jim Schmidt
Behling Racing Products Certificate: Brett Swedberg
Wehrs Machine Certificate: Mark Rose
Autometer Certificate:Mitch McGrath
Wilwood Lucky 13: Tim Buhler
Real Racing Wheels Hard Luck Award: Tim Buhler
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Certificate: Ron Stroika
Station 2 Cash: Tom Naeyaert