2019 Round 5

Nick Anvelink is King!

Shawano, WI - Nick Anvelink took the lead with just three laps to go as he worked to the inside of Troy Springborn as the leaders worked through the tail of the field.  As the traffic in front of them raced three-wide, Anvelink overtook Springborn and went on to win his tenth http://DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour race, his second win at Shawano Speedway.  Anvelink visited the Mueller’s Sales & Service Victory Lane for the second time this season, with his first win coming just over a month ago at Outagamie Speedway on Memorial Day weekend.  Anvelink who is sponsored by Gehm’s Club 117 in Bonduel was joined by Russ & Jess Gehm in the Mueller’s Sales & Service Victory Lane.

Springborn led the first 22 laps of the 25-lap Gehm’s Club 117 Kings Classic after starting from the pole.  Springborn took the lead going into turn one and battled with Justin Ritchie going down the backstretch but Springborn prevailed on the high side.   Just past halfway, Anvelink charged to third position, passing Ron Berna on the inside.    One lap later, Anvelink took second position away from Ritchie and set his sights on Springborn, who was half a straightaway ahead.  With five laps remaining, Anvelink had closed the gap to Springborn, who was working around lapped traffic, but Springborn had a slight advantage but more lapped cars on the horizon.  Anvelink passed six cars en route to his win.  Springborn finished second, followed by Ritchie, Berna and Brett Swedberg.

The Stockbridge Engineering Touring Kings finished atop the leader board, with Nick Anvelink being crowned King, Troy Springborn in second, Justin Ritchie in third, Ron Berna in fourth, Brett Swedberg was fifth.  Justin Schmidt finished sixth, Chris Engels was ninth, Mark Rose was tenth, Tim Buhler finished thirteenth, and Turk Letizia finished fifteenth.

After returning to the Mueller’s Sales & Service Victory Lane, Anvelink also returns to the top position in the 2019 http://DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour Championship standings.  With his third place finish, Ritchie remains the Sunoco Race Fuels Rookie of the Year points leader and was awarded the Sunoco Race Fuels Rookie of the Race honors.

Gehm's Club 117 Kings Classic Result

P1: 15 - Nick Anvelink

P2: 81 - Troy Springborn

P3: 70 - Justin Ritchie

P4: 66 - Ron Berna

P5: 3 - Brett Swedberg

P6: 97 - Justin Schmidt

P7: 11 - Justin Reed

P8: 9 - Tom Naeyaert

P9: 33e - Chris Engels

P10: 0r - Mark Rose

P11: 20 - Joe Reuter

P12: 33s - Ron Stroika

P13: 7b - Tim Buhler

P14: 5 - Lukas Postl

P15: d1 - Turk Letizia

P16: 45 - Scott Blanke

P17: 27 - Derek Janke

P18: 16 - Zack Kessler

DNS: 03 - Kyle Raddant

Heat Race #1 sponsored by Pro Power Racing Result

P1: 3 - Brett Swedberg

P2: 81 - Troy Springborn

P3: 20 - Joe Reuter

P4: 0r - Mark Rose

P5: 7b - Tim Buhler

P6: 45 - Scott Blanke

P7: 03 - Kyle Raddant

Heat Race #2 sponsored by Mueller's Sales & Service Result

P1: 70 - Justin Ritchie

P2: 97 - Justin Schmidt

P3: 66 - Ron Berna

P4: 9 - Tom Naeyaert

P5: d1 - Turk Letizia

P6: 5 - Lukas Postl

Heat Race #3 sponsored by Londerville Steel Result

P1: 15 - Nick Anvelink

P2: 33e - Chris Engels

P3: 33s - Ron Stroika

P4: 11 - Justin Reed

P5: 27 - Derek Janke

P6: 16 - Zack Kessler

Results generated by RacePal

Allstar Performance Hard Charger Award: Nick Anvelink

Amsoil/ Freedom Synthetics: Mark Rose

Behling Racing Products Certificate: Nick Anvelink

Wehrs Machine Certificate: Troy Springborn 

Autometer Certificate: Troy Springborn 

Wilwood Lucky 13: Tim Buhler 

QuarterMaster Hard Luck Award: Kyle Raddant

Keizer Aluminum Wheels Certificate: Justin Reed

Station 2 Cash: Kyle Raddant

Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Justin Ritchie